Shauna Teacher Gets Schooled: Summer Inferno Edition

14 Jul

So it’s been about 3 months since I’ve started my all-Korean tennis lessons and I’m still at it *pats self on back*. Korean summers are notoriously humid, and according to my boss today was one of the hottest days yet this summer (it looks like it was about 30 °C with about 80% humidity,which to be fair is not is not unheard of back home) In order to compensate for the inferno in which I would be practicing, I showed up in this:

In lieu of an actual photo of me in my tennis gear I felt this would suffice as she is clearly a fair representation of both my physique and talent

However, my Korean classmates, many of whom are at least 15-20 years my senior and far more skilled, showed but in an outfit looking something like this (I really wanted to take a picture of my class and post it here, but whenever I take candid pictures of people I feel obnoxious and so was too shy to do so):

Fine they don’t show up in a du rag, but they honestly have this du rag-like contraption that velcros onto their cap that I couldn’t find a picture of, so the sporty du rag had to suffice.  

One would think that my choice is clearly the more comfortable attire for playing tennis in a heart only found in 5-alarm fires, but alas this is how I looked by the end of class…….

Me at the end of class (no I did not transform into a man-note the sweat drenched clothing, not the discrepancy in gender)

……while my Korean counterparts looked dry and invigorated. Really really, one man actually pointed it out and started to make fun of me (harumph!).  The only logical conclusion that can be drawn here is that Koreans are magical. Or at least their sweat glands are (or that I have a glandular disorder…).

xoxo

3 Responses to “Shauna Teacher Gets Schooled: Summer Inferno Edition”

  1. Ryan Robinson July 14, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    Koreans are magical. Without question.

  2. kristinaxs July 15, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    yesterday a Korean coworker mentioned that he didn’t sweat much. I was envious but then he said it’s probably bad for the kidneys

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Koreans – They got the Power « In an Aeroplane Over the Sea - July 27, 2011

    […] Impressive. My workouts barely manage to move my lump of a body, never mind  a whole building. I wonder if Koreans don the sporty du rag during Tae Bo like they do during my tennis lessons? […]

Leave a Reply

