The Pog Formerly Known as Baji

10 Jul

When I first welcomed Baji into my humble abode (emphasis on humble) I promised the students that they would be given the opportunity to rename him. I considered this to be quite ingenious as it served me on multiple dimensions; first it allowed me to relinquished the responsibility of naming him myself (my previous two pets were named Angel and Star, so take from that what you will), second it provided me with a cost effective incentive for the children outside of the usual candy and stickers, and finally it justified any moral repercussions the name change would cause, such as his resulting identity crisis and a pile up of psychiatry bills(the little man doesn’t even realize he has a name, so said moral repercussions are a bit of an embellishment)

It took a while to decide how to orchestrate this as it had to be devised so each of my 60-odd  students were given a fair chance without ending up with 60-odd names. And so during the past month I held small contests where the winners would choose a name to placed on the short list. This is what they came up with:

Nara

Polly

Lioge (err I have no idea where they were going with this one) 

Coma (I didn’t have the heart to explain to a five year old what a coma was)

Pipi

Bolton (Micheal Bolton….Bolton, Ontario ??)

Spike

Cactus

Sonic

Master Windu (as per suggested by Master Jedi)

Dochi (Hedgehog in Korean is goseumdochi 고슴도치 thus dochi for short)

Heart

Hedgie

So though there were some strange ones in there (like who/what/where/why/how on earth is a lioge??), I was pleasantly surprised by the wit of some,  like spike and cactus. Well done little ones, well done. (that sounded rather maniacal….)  This past week I had the students vote for their fave. The results are in and the winner is (drum roll, ect) ……

And so there it is. Baji is now Dochi and can add identity crisis to his growing list of stressors. And so I leave you with a photo montage of the endearingly mischievous living,breathing(huffing?) stress ball that is Baj..erm I mean Dochi. To give a bit of background, these were taken in the bowels of  torture chamber that was my apartment last weekend once my air con blew out. Hedgehogs are rather finicky about everything temperature – their environment should never be too hot or too cold(if Dochi ran things I’d be fashioning him a mini air purifier/dehumidifier to be put in his cage while I manually fan him). Leaving a hedgehog in too low of a temperature is actually quite serious; the cold can induce a state of hibernation that the domesticated animal is not accustomed to, which can be quite dangerous….and sometimes fatal. Too hot, however, simply leads to loads of laughs for me.

Woo freedom!

Coooooool a plastic thing for me to hide in

Whew…..wow it’s rather toasty in here

This kinda heat is illegal….my giant is inhumane…..*SPLAT*

Nein! Must….take…advantage…..of……freedom……………..

Oh eff that! *melts to the floor*

I totally get you Ba…Dochi

xoxo

5 Responses to “The Pog Formerly Known as Baji”

  1. Kim Conner July 11, 2011 at 2:31 am #

    First, I like your new webpage design… snazzy!

    Second, Dochi (haha, new name usage!) is sooooooo cute. If I didn’t have 2 cats already, one of which that is being super obnoxious, I mean loving, while typing this… I would seriously want a hedgehog based on those pictures alone. <3!

  2. Natalie July 13, 2011 at 4:06 am #

    awww dochi! yay for dochi 😀 tis an authentic name! and ms shauna… do you not let ur hedgie out often? why the sudden freedom of the hedgie??

    -nat

  3. Shauna K July 13, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    awww Kim you have cats…too fun! Yes hedgehogs are fun but are super weird(I mean that in a good way I swear) For instance, he is currently running around the room in circles with his sleeping bag on his head, only pausing to take a poop.

    aahha and Nat I don’t keep Dochi on lock down but I can’t let him out unless I’m home and I am only home so long every day so in my head he is happy to finally be free whenever out of his cage

    • Natalie July 14, 2011 at 2:32 am #

      hi-freakin-larious. you have taught him well!!! 😀 (i clearly expect more pics of dochi running around with a sleeping bag on his head!)

  4. Calina July 15, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    I would have gone with Bolton if I had to be super biased but Dochi will do! Love the new blog shauna teacher!

Leave a Reply

