Taxi Driver: Matchmaker Edition

11 Jun

So I just walked away from a mildly awkward Taxi ride. It started with a bang…..

*BANG* That’s the sound of me smacking my head on the frame of the vehicle. Old hat, seeing as the number of times I’ve hit my head during my three month stay here is already well into the double digits. Nothing to do with the locale though, seeing as I basically dropped myself on my head as a child…

Taxi Driver: Oh sorry! So sorry!(it was quite clear that the blow was not his fault in the slightest, but in true humble Korean fashion…)

We get the usual -“Are you American? No?”- sorting out I’m Canadian – business out-of-the-way(not that I find the mistake particularly bothersome), so then we casually move onto the next most logical topic…

TD: Are you single?

The clear answer in this situation, albeit a lie, is no, but because I have a mental handicap where I lose the ability to lie when it will save me from awkward situations my answer is… 

Me: Yes.

TD: How old are you?

Me: 25

TD: I have a son, he is 23. Marriage, ok?

Me: *nervous laughter* No no.

TD: Ha ok. *motions to head* Head ? *grimace* Sorry so sorry!

Me: No no. No problem.

TD: I have a son, he is 23. Meet tomorrow, ok?

Me: *nervous laughter* No no. I am very busy (doing nothing)

TD: Ok. My son, 23, meet this week, ok?

Me: *nervous laughter* No no. I am very VERY busy (still doing nothing)

TD: Ha ok. You are very beautiful. *motions to head* Head ? *grimace* Sorry so sorry!

Me: No no no. No problem.

TD: I have a son, he is 23. Face good, so gentle! Ok?

Me: It is so sad then that I am so very old! (not really a lie as I don’t think I’d want to date a 23 year old)

TD: Ha ok. You are very beautiful. *motions to head* Head ? *grimace* Sorry so sorry!

Me: No no no no. No problem.

TD: I have a son, he is 23. Churchee! Goes to Catholic church. Ok?

At this point I want to holler,” I don’t care how wholesome and gentle your toddler son is! I don’t ride taxis to pick up!”. But I humbly admit that much like his toddler son, I am gentle(maybe we really are a match made in heaven), and so recycled the reply…

Me: It is so sad then that I am so very old!

TD: Oh! Ok, ok. Me, I am 55. ok?

Luckily by this point I am at my doorstep, so the awkwardness must come to an end. But before I leave the vehicle you wouldn’t guess what he says…

TD: *motions to head* Head ? *grimace* Sorry so sorry!

Who knows, I may have just passed up the baby love of my life.

xoxo

2 Responses to “Taxi Driver: Matchmaker Edition”

  1. Kim June 13, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    *sigh* he could have been your prince charming. lol!

    I got told this weekend that good girls don’t take taxi’s by themselves. rofl! What does that say about his son? Must not be that good if he’s willing to pass him off to a “not good girl”

  2. Shauna K June 20, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    Oh man by that standard I’m a heathen

Leave a Reply

