Hail to the Chief!

19 Apr

Today I went to lunch with my all Korean tennis club. We went for sushi, which is a far cry from what I would find at my regular sushi haunt back in Toronto. The main attraction was what I would describe as a bibimbap, sans the egg and with raw fishing in lieu of beef, and was absolutely delicious!  The side dish, raw sea squirt,  was mildly less appetizing. Though I ate it with ease during the meal, my opinion quickly soured after catching the live thing outside of the dining establishment. Looked something like this:

Honestly the ones hanging out smirking at me (fine they have no faces but I swear I caught a smirk!) in the foggy tank outside of the restaurant were even more revolting looking- kinda like they fell off this guy:

However, the most entertaining part of the meal was when I somehow got elected “Chief”(basically someone to relay information from the coach to the other members and to organize get-togethers) of our all Korean speaking tennis club . I of course understood this to be a hilarious joke and was rolling around on the floor with laughter, but quickly realized that after  several rounds of applause that they were being dead serious(that and the look of annoyance that came over my bosses face as she knew that she would obviously be doing the bulk of the work for me). Apparently this is all part of the coach’s master plan for me to learn Korean, I somehow feel his plan may backfire….

Anyways, it’s been nearly two months since my teaching premier, so I feel it appropriate to show you some of my students.

Cutest personality ever! Beyond those times when he swings from blouse collars…..

Is thinking of turning to Dr.Phil for help with her high-five addiction:

Couldn’t tell from this picture but the kid on the left is the sweetest ever

Just won a rock-paper-scissors! battle-the resolution to all classroom disputes

I know you’re not supposed to pick favourites, but if I would this may be him. I told my boss this and she replied, “Really, but he’s always dirty!” . Sounds like my kinda kid….

“Shauna Teacher I am happy and I am sad and I am so-so and I am great and I am okay and I am tired and I am ummmmmmmm” *confused face*

You can bet I had to confiscate that

Cutie. ‘Nough said

Getting the kindergardeners to work this intently is a Christmas miracle. And the kid on the right has THE BEST hair – the future star of a Korean drama

Popular Korean delicacy

Thats right, I work them to the bone

And I’ll leave off with this one(no wonder I’m always sick)

xoxo

7 Responses to “Hail to the Chief!”

  1. the world's own optimist April 19, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    “he’s always dirty…” bahahaha. if your boss only knew…you’d be on the first plane/boat/raft made out of old tires back to toronto.

    • Shauna K April 19, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

      obvs the raft made of old tires…….how on earth could one keep up the hygiene on that thing….score!

      • the world's own optimist April 19, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

        as long as you have blue cheese to eat on your journey.

      • Shauna K April 28, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

        ps what’s your blog link?

  2. the world's own optimist April 19, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    slash, this is john, i’m trying to get an old blog i had going again.

  3. Erin April 19, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    Your kids are soooo cute! Esp High-Five Girl.

  4. Natalie April 19, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

    they’re all sooooo cute!!!!!!!! i hope grapomatoes taste good 😀

Leave a Reply

