All Quiet on the Frenemy Front

8 Apr

After 2 weeks of intense behavioral therapy Baji is comfortable enough for me to hold him and pose for a photo shoot. Work it!

Baji or Popples?

Fave hangout: Old cardboard tunnel…

Chowing down! Was meant for his dinner…..snuck it while I was prepping his cage.

Although he has come leaps and bounds since his first days hyperventilating under my wardrobe, he’s not completely comfortable with his new giant owner and the slum he calls home, proven to be true when he rolls into a ball while jutting his spikes out at me (how rude, has he never hear the saying don’t prick the hand that feeds you??). Apparently it takes a few months for hedgies to warm up to new owners, but if they become cozy enough you can pet them (and if you’re really lucky a few have been known to roll around with glee whilst allowing you to rub their belly…..I’m thinking that Baji’s a bit far from that).

For now if he’s not lounging around in his Gana cake box (Gana cakes are Korea’s delicious/disgusting answer to  Jos Louis) he curiously scurrying his chubby self around my room.  I still have yet to rename him as I am pretty useless when it comes to naming anything(naming this blog for instance took ages and even when I finally decided i had to rip the name from the Neutral Milk Hotel song). The best I’ve come up with so far is Chubby Wubby, Sir Poopsalot ( to be fair he does his business quite a bit for such a tiny chubby thang), Sonic…..yup pretty useless. Since I cannot be trusted with the task I think I’m going to make it into a competition of sort amongst my students. The results could be interesting….

The next hurdle to cross is bathing him and giving him is monthly pedicure…….. wonder if they’d let him join the fun at the nearby Jjimjilbang (“spas”…..a Korean’s dream form of relaxation, my nightmare ….read more here)

I’ll end this one the victim of my theft:

xoxo

7 Responses to “All Quiet on the Frenemy Front”

  1. john arthur harwood crouch April 9, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    cornelius or mr. spikes…

  2. Calina April 10, 2011 at 12:43 am #

    Aww he’s too cute…I do like Sonic as a name but I have a tendency to name my pets after fictional characters (ie. Batman)

  3. Devin April 10, 2011 at 5:29 am #

    1 vote for sonic or alternatively knuckles the hedgehog

    • Shauna K April 11, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

      ahah I was trying to remember his name…don’t think he’s quite tough enough to don that name.

  4. Kim April 12, 2011 at 1:03 am #

    Just wanted to let you know that I’m really enjoying your blog. I just moved to Gilcheon-Ri (North of Busan along the coast about 30 minutes) with my husband last week. Keep it up!

    • Shauna K April 13, 2011 at 3:00 am #

      Aww thanks! Are you at a public or private school? How’s everything panning out so far?

      • Kim April 13, 2011 at 3:05 am #

        Neither, my husband is working on the Shin Gori Reactors, I got dragged along. 🙂

        I’ll probably apply to teach if I can do it nearby (to stay busy, I don’t want to be bored), did you go through a recruiting agency?

Leave a Reply

