Washed Away

11 Mar

Every time I turn on the television I feel as if I’ve caught a bit of 2012 and eagerly wait for John Cusak to fumble his way onto the screen (so what if I was the movie’s #1 and only fan)

To my disbelief, the footage is of the recent disaster that struck my neighbors to the East. One can certainly understand my confusion after watching videos such as this:

What I find most frightening is the wall of waves dauntingly flowing towards land. My condolences to anyone who has any missing loved ones in the area.

I have been planning to teach abroad for about 3 years, and it wasn’t until late October of last year that I decided on South Korea vs Japan. Up until the fall I was certain I would be teaching in Japan, but decided to choose South Korea; a decision made mostly based on monetary constraints. Though it’s likely I would have been in Tokyo and out of any grave danger, I think it is safe to assume that exposure to an earthquake of this magnitude during the first few weeks of my new residency may have put a mild damper on the experience. Just maybe.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

